Twanzflemminism on passing

As a twanzflemminist, I am very concerned with the tragic, unfair, sad, issues facing twanzwomen everywhere. Today I want to address “passing”.

Before I address the issue of passing, I should outline my twanzflemminist activist creds, here is a picture of me at a recent Pride Parade:

I know, I know! Before you say how well I, Stephanie Louanne Floo-Floobelle passes – particularly standing right next to one of those sissie-women – you must spare a thought for our uglier, plainer twanzsisters who do not pass as well as I do:

I know, I know! Poor things, they can’t help it if they have no sense of style or femininity like I have. Nor can they help it if they are as plain as a brown paper bag. Look, I really cannot help it that I pass so well, here is me around the house with a few friends about to drop by for afternoon tea:

And it was only a casual get-together too, but that is no reason to be frumpy! Even when I go down to the local pub for drinks-with-parasols in them, I make sure I look my best:

Notice that at home, having an aperitif before going out, I still use a straw. I tell you, this femininity thing just happens for me, it is no effort.

Even my friend Priscilla St John knows how to dress to make the most of her feminine assets:

So yes, Priscilla and I feel very very sorry for our twanzsisters who do not pass as well as we do.

To address this burning issue facing twanzwomen everywhere, who do not have the good fortune to be graced with the innate sense of style and femininity as we have, Priscilla and I are going to start a Foundation for this very important cause, to help our uglier tranzsisters. I know, I know! We are so philanthropic and generous, as well as being so blessed by naturally passing so well.

So I will leave my less fortunate twanzsisters something to aspire to:

Remember my unfortunately plain and non-passing tranzsisters; go through life with style and grace to be in touch with your inner woman!
~ Stephanie Louanne Floo-Floobelle, 2011

* * * * *
[1] flickr.com/photos/petti_pie/
[2] flickr.com/photos/ritaknight1999/2048438387/in/photostream
[3] flickr.com/photos/daynajohansen/2096478285/sizes/m/in/photostream/
[4] flickr.com/photos/53807793@N06/5589429876/sizes/m/in/photostream/
[5] flickr.com/photos/glampriscilla/1126111893/sizes/m/in/photostream/

and special thanks to the Crafty-one for the inspiration of this post.

42 thoughts on “Twanzflemminism on passing

  1. DaveSquirrel Post author

    The crux of the post, for those who missed its point, is that for every twansjacktivist that prattles on about the twagedy of twanz needing to pass, they cannot help but to mention how they themselves are so lucky to be able to pass effortlessly.
    Delusion City.

    Like

    Reply
  2. enadai

    Twanz fashion history:

    http://www.independent.co.uk/news/fbi-chief-exposed-as-a-secret-transvestite-peter-pringle-reports-from-new-york-on-new-allegations-that-j-edgar-hoover-attended-orgies-wearing-a-fluffy-black-dress-to-one-and-was-blackmailed-into-protecting-the-mafia-1471376.html

    “Eyewitness of the Plaza orgies is Lewis Rosentiel’s then wife, Susan, who claims she saw Hoover ‘wearing a fluffy black dress, very fluffy, with flounces, and lace stockings and high heels and a black curly wig’. Cohn introduced him as Mary, she says.

    In an excerpt of the biography in next week’s Vanity Fair magazine she adds: ‘It was obvious it wasn’t a woman; you could see where he shaved. It was Hoover. You’ve never seen anything like it. I couldn’t believe it, that I should see the head of the FBI dressed as a woman.’ She says Hoover, Cohn and her husband had sex with the boys, one of whom read from the Bible.”

    Like

    Reply
  3. Sargasso Sea

    My family must have lied to me about my Aunt (Pretty in Pink) Bob’s death because pictures of him keep turning up right here at Twanzphobic Since Forever!

    Also, I had no idea that Keith Olbermann had such a nice parasol.

    Like

    Reply
  4. DaveSquirrel Post author

    Speaking of parasols, remember, all of this comes under the ‘transgender parasol’.
    The twansjacktivists make no attempt to limit who is in/out of this little kinky partay, and the crossdressers above would be welcomed into places like ladies toilets if transjacktivists got their way.

    Like

    Reply
  5. pmsrhino

    I just have to wonder how they spend all this money on those horrid frilly dresses and yet get the UGLIEST wigs they can find. Do they specifically go out in search of ugly wigs? Seriously, I can refer them to a decent wig shop if they need it. 😡

    At least this guy is hiding his man hips with dresses that puff out at the waist. It doesn’t help the rest of him pass, but at least I’m not having to look at man hips in ill fitting tight dresses.

    I like the point RadFemCrafts made in her post Some of the Trans Delusions I’ve Known about how these men only feel they pass so well because most people are taught to NOT mention or talk down about someone’s looks. So if I saw this guy walking around in a dress while I was, say, grocery shopping, I wouldn’t say a word to him about his man face or that, really, no girl over the age of 10 or woman outside of the Japanese lolita culture would be caught dead in that frilly dress. He would probably finish his day thinking what a wonderful woman he makes and how NO ONE can even tell that he’s still got a dick. But people do notice. Most of us were just brought up with manners and know it’s just rude to say things like that to a stranger.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Kesh Meshi

      I don’t think it’s just a matter of politeness. I’ve gotten endless amounts of shit from men in public about how supposedly ugly I am. Many of those insults are a result of the men being rejected, but there was still a great deal of harassment that amounted to a man stopping dead in the street and calling me ugly or making fun of what I was wearing with nothing prompting the insult other than my mere existence.

      Many people (and when I write “people”, I mean men) aren’t remotely polite when it comes to harassing and insulting strangers for no reason. I also think men would be the natural harassers of these tootsies since men really hate male gender non-conformity. Male homophobes go after men of color who aren’t performing gender “correctly”, whether they be gay men, drag queens, or trans women. I think it’s worth considering how much harder trans women of color try to pass and how that’s related to male harassment and violence.

      But these tootsies are obviously white men, and they aren’t harassed for a few different reasons.

      First, there’s society prioritizing the weird behavior of white men, of never calling it outt. Any person (who’s not a white male) not attuned to trans ideology who sees one of these tootsies out in public is most likely going to think “what the hell is that white dude doing???” But they won’t harass him because what “right” does a woman of any race or a man of color have questioning a white man’s behavior? I especially empathize with service workers (especially recent immigrants) who don’t likely have much knowledge of pomo white liberal nonsense who genuinely don’t know how to deal with these men but risk a trans tantrum and getting fired if they “misgender” the dude.

      Second, everyone knows how batshit and violent white men are. Add in most people’s inherent distrust of male crossdressers, and you’re not going to see anyone except maybe drunks and brazen teenagers saying “boo” to an ugly white MTT. The uglier and less passing a male crossdresser is, the more likely people are going to think he’s an unhinged fetishist (and, frankly, I don’t think they’re wrong).

      Third, I think there’s also the “poor things” kind of attitude that these tootsies get that genuine women don’t. An ugly woman is fair game, period, while men are not. Related to the idea that no one’s allowed to question the behavior of a white man, we’re not “allowed” to call a man ugly.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  6. rebel13

    Jeebus. How can ANYONE watch that and NOT get that they are making fun of women?!!!!!!!!

    And OMG. Those dresses! Do these guys seriously not look around? Do they honestly not realize that actual women do not dress like that? Are they channeling Nellie Olsen from Little House on the Prairie? Is it like a pedophilic fetish thing — dressing up like little girls turns them on?

    And WTF-ing F is up with that one who is pointing his bum at the DISHWASHER FFS?

    Like

    Reply
  7. enadai

    I think it’s more specific. They’re ridiculing women, yes, but women of colour specifically. Not just because (the actor) is coloured, but deliberately a very degrading stereotype of Black women. The next show would be a white woman. She’d be dainty, wear an apron, and be churchy bigoted.

    Like

    Reply
  8. radfemcrafts

    The Wayans brothers have never met a dress they didn’t want to put on to mock women. http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0381707/

    I have to admit the first time I came across the concept that trans people without fail mention that they themselves pass while decrying the so-called hegemony of passing was plastic girl. He was right, ever since I can’t not notice all the: “I pass really well therefore I’m uniquely qualified to talk about how oppressive passing is!” Ooookay, honey.

    PS – dude with butt to dishwasher needs to poop.

    Like

    Reply
  9. DaveSquirrel Post author

    while decrying the so-called hegemony of passing

    LOL, my fictional composite, Stephanie Louanne Floo-Floobelle, got so distracted (and self-obsessed) at how well he passed, he simply forgot to decry the hegemony of passing business! I have seen that too, where the post is supposed be going on about how it is soooo unfair that twanz have to pass as their ‘opposite jendah’, they devote a whole sentence or two that, then the rest of the post is *somehow* about how well they pass – and then they add a lot of pretending to care about the homely ones that don’t.

    In sort, this was an easy comedy gig, reading the real thing is just as amusing, if you can wade through the overly long post. My gawd are they all long winded!

    I had the misfortune to see that film on TV a few years ago. My eyes nearly bugged out at what I was seeing. Men love doing drag – of course, they all pretend like it’s the worst thing in the world and they wouldn’t be caught dead doing it – but put them on a desert island with a wardrobe of women’s clothes and they would be happily prancing around in them. One of the reasons that Rocky Horror became so popular, all sorts of dudes could dress in suspenders and stuff. If they were any more transparent, they’d be tissue paper.

    Like

    Reply
  10. enadai

    Anthony Casebeer did it too didn’t he, only he put the words in his mother’s mouth. “You’re a prettier woman than I ever was, I’ll give you that”, said the Dowager Casebeer, going way out there into the stratosphere of motherly duty.

    Like

    Reply
  11. DaveSquirrel Post author

    Yeah, casebeer, LOL, I was thinking of his “passing” at one point

    The fact that he thought he was passing (at over 6 foot), and did his mother really say that, or was that also a fantasy he made up???

    Like

    Reply
  12. enadai

    If a man walked into the women’s washroom or was in the women’s change area at the pool, you’d sharply correct him and show him the way out. But if you came across that above, you would know –danger– this person is unhinged. I’d be out of there so fast. You do not stay to find out in exactly what ways he’s deranged, you just know he is.

    Like

    Reply
  13. feministcartographer

    I really don’t get this blog. It doesn’t seem to be doing anything to further the cause of feminism or social justice.

    Like

    Reply
  14. DaveSquirrel Post author

    I really don’t get this blog. It doesn’t seem to be doing anything to further the cause of feminism or social justice.

    Well, I guess you really don’t mind bepenised people sharing the women’s toilets, changing rooms, being in DV shelters with terrified women and children? 75-80% of these nouveau-laydees are packing penis. The vast majority under the transgender umbrella are garden variety crossdressers and transvestites. Nor do transjacktivists mind if sexual predators are protected under the “trans umbrella”.

    I cannot help it, if some people just cannot see that.
    Nor can I help it, if your version of social justice does not prioritise born-females from this colonisation. Really can’t.

    Like

    Reply
  15. Sargasso Sea

    Cartographer, not to lecture or anything but for ages Satire has been used as a very powerful political tool. Not every single thing we do has to be Serious and Scholarly because if it was it would be BORING.

    Now, where’s our Twanzphobic Tonight contract?!

    Like

    Reply
  16. DaveSquirrel Post author

    Mz Sea, it is in the post. Promise. 😛

    As for the point of coming to a blog commenting “Feminism: yer iz doin’ it wrong” without offering up the proof of how the criticiser is ‘doin’ it right’, I have to LOL.

    At least my blog is not about me me me and me. Because a blog like that is hardly furthering the cause of feminism and social justice. My blog does have concern for females other than myself, and what it actually being done to corrupt the term feminism. You know, not just about me!

    Like

    Reply
  17. feministcartographer

    huh? my blog isnt all about me, me, me either.

    I think there are definatly conversations/discusions to be had and issues to be raised about trans politics but I think doing it like this, in a way that is so hatefull is just going to stop people listening to you. Also it seems a lot of the people you feature here are crossdressers rather than trans gender/sexual people and that’s a whole different thing.

    Like

    Reply
  18. DaveSquirrel Post author

    Also it seems a lot of the people you feature here are crossdressers rather than trans gender/sexual people and that’s a whole different thing.

    Ummm, no it’s not a whole different thing – and many of them, even though they identify as crossdressers, still shelter under the tranz umbrella. They put themselves there, not me. So please do learn a bit more about who exactly is under this tranz umbrella before spouting off.

    huh? my blog isnt all about me, me, me either.

    LOL 🙄 whatever you say.
    “I live in an increasingly disabled body…”
    “I grew up in a very repressive religious environment…”

    You have the twanz-luvvin F-Word on your blogroll, so your tranzluvvin crap is more welcome there. You lot can agonise how much much worse it is for TWs than actual females, and how feminism should just concentrate on TWs (or those that claim to be TWs, there are a lot of so called genderqueer dudes that say they are TWs, but live, dress, and work as males).

    Anyway, there goes your two chances. If you high-and-mightally repeat your rather boring sermons as to how I should conduct myself, just be aware your comment will be in perma-mod. You don’t even address the content of the post ffs! It’s called trolling when you do that.

    thx, bai.

    Like

    Reply
  19. DaveSquirrel Post author

    *head desk*

    @ feministcartographer, stuck in permamod, I refer you to my last comment:
    If you high-and-mightally repeat your rather boring sermons as to how I should conduct myself, just be aware your comment will be in perma-mod. You don’t even address the content of the post ffs! It’s called trolling when you do that.

    Are you thick or something?
    Address the content of the post, or skulk off to F-Word land.
    I will almost guarantee that you are under 30-35. I’ve actually been a feminist for almost as long as that. Even in my dumbass twenties I would not have told other feminists off like you do.

    And no, I don’t “hate all women who are’nt [sic] exactly the same as you” (referring to comment in mod). It is because I have little patience any more for libfems, sucking up to males, telling other feminists to “be nicer [to males]”. Because that does not work. And by saying that, you diss every generation of feminist before you, saying “they were doin’ it wrong, they just weren’t asking nicely enough”. So it is not only me that you (continually) insult, but feminist foremothers as well. Asking males nicely, to stop raping and beating, does NOT work. Proven fact.

    Now, either get with the programme, or get out of the way. Either read the fucking blog and educate yourself, or live more years in ignorance and denial about the true state for women, that is real women.

    Like

    Reply
  20. feministcartographer

    I am not a libfem, I don’t care about being nice to men, I don’t care about being nice in general that was not my point at all. Where did I say anything about “Asking males nicely to stop raping and beating”? I know the state for women I’m a survivor of incest and forced prostitution

    Actualy I’m 33

    I wasn’t “telling you off” anywhere I was trying to have a discusion.

    Like

    Reply
  21. DaveSquirrel Post author

    Against my better judgment, and even against my own rulez, I have let your fourth comment through. Mainly to show everyone that no, you cannot seem to address the content of the post constructively.

    And, your first comment:
    I really don’t get this blog. It doesn’t seem to be doing anything to further the cause of feminism or social justice.

    How the fuckity fuck do you think that is trying to have a discussion? Clue: It’s not. It is criticism only, without even any sort of validity.

    So you are 33. Which actually comes within my estimate above, albeit badly phrased, because I was 99% certain you were under 35, and possibly under 30.

    I support you as an exited woman, and incest victim (the two frequently go together, it is not unusual). But I think perhaps you have a lot more self work to go through, then move onto to support other women looking to exit. I say this, because you cannot help others until you have worked through things sufficiently yourself. Same with DV or rape. You might have good intentions in wanting to help others before you are ready, but don’t. Basically, you have to heal yourself before helping others. Just don’t ask *how* I know, I am just *psychic* and *I knows*. It probably helps that I am older, and have been through all sorts of crap myself.

    If you actually want to open up dialogue about the tranz issues (the main thrust of this blog), then I will engage. This blog IS focusing on tranz, gender, and related issues, not general feminism, not even general radfeminism on which it is based. Nor is it meant to be a mainstream ‘engage the people’ blog either. Plenty of those. The focus here is on transgender, and female-only spaces, and how trans and genderqueer politics works agains the female-born.

    Now, for the last time, please engage either with the topic of the post, or the theme of the blog.

    Like

    Reply
  22. DaveSquirrel Post author

    Oh, and if feministcartographer checks in, here is the typical attitude that M2Ts (so called transwomen) have for biological females. And people wonder why I have a problem with them.

    “We can’t help the fact that some of you [lesbians, radfems, & all other females] are frothing at the mouth and bitter about the fact that you’re home alone and some of my sisters not only look better than you, some of them are in satisfying long term relationships with biomen despite having five inches of neoclit in their lace panties. If y’all would check those jacked up attitudes, you might get to use that neocoochie from time to time and not only feel a man inside you, you’ll get to experience what an orgasm feels like.”
    ~ Monica Roberts, M2T

    via
    http://mansplaintransplain.wordpress.com/2011/08/22/you-don%E2%80%99t-have-to-get-srs-to-be-trans-you-just-have-to-have-a-talent-for-creepy-porn-speak/

    Like

    Reply
  23. The Fabulously Mean Mutineer Queen of Power Kitty Glendower

    How can females have neo-coochies? We are born with our “coochies.” We come with “coochies.” Placing “neo” in front of “chooches” implies that is is something newly acquired, as in purchased as in something some dumb man desires to do. I think ol’ Mr. Roberts is confusing his intended audience. Also, what lesbian would want a “bioman” inside of her? Again, it just proves Mr. Roberts is totally clueless as to who he is supposedly insulting.

    What an idiot.

    Like

    Reply
  24. DaveSquirrel Post author

    Roberts is a total idiot.
    I swear, these people know nothing about lesbians, except the pornie version pretend-lesbians.
    Roberts is also the same one that lied through his ass when casebeer-gate happened, insisting that he didn’t see it happen – when he directly responded to casebeer’s comments TWICE.

    I think it is a fair assumption to say that Roberts is a pathological and habitual liar, hence the bullshit rambling above.

    Like

    Reply
  25. ibleedpurple

    I must admit that I laughed at Robert’s comment. It’s so astoundingly male and anti-feminist (not to mention clueless since most women don’t orgasm from intercourse) as opposed to their own claims about their innate female essence (how about MRA essence?). And those incredible biomen MtT are partnered with are most probably self-hating gay men who want to get their freak on without getting bashed for it. It must be heaven to serve as a tool for covering up someone else’s sexuality! I quiver and weep in frustrated anger and jealousy!

    Also, Gallus deserves an award for doing that transplaining site. Always delighted to laugh about new idiot comments. I also loved the one by ZoeBrain: “In many ways, it takes balls to transition, more so than to be a test pilot. Many don’t make it, quite a few die in the attempt.”

    Like

    Reply
  26. ibleedpurple

    Ugh, sorry! I thought I had had read something but this is no excuse whatsoever for me talking about it like that. I forgot how vicious trans activists are.

    Like

    Reply
  27. The Masked Lily

    I feel compelled to contribute a disturbing piece of knowledge,

    That many of the dresses are in the (now trendy among young anime fans and in these cases fetishists,) “lolita” fashion. It started out as a fashion trend in Harajuku, Japan and became staple in “moe” and “loli” anime. Basically, sexed up little girls in frilly dresses. Puke.

    I’m an anime fan myself (I adore Revolutionary Girl Utena, it’s such a masterpiece that I think transcends the medium of anime, and I grew up loving/still love Sailor Moon) but avoid 99% of it because so much of it is twisted. The “loli” trend is so disturbing and I would not be surprised if these men were consumers of it/hentai (anime porn, double puke).

    Like

    Reply
  28. magdelyn c. prossii (@magdelyn)

    Well, sweet cheeks, not all we trannies are feminists. But, truth be told, all of these keyboard trannies who talk about how stealth they are purely bullship. The vast majority of we trannies (fauxwhore.com) don’t pass. That being said, It’s fun sleeping with all the guys and girlios…and watch the frustrated psycho-dykes get themselves all in a tizzy trying to get laid by someone that doesn’t look like King Kong in flannel.

    Like

    Reply
  29. Nicky

    Those men trying to pass off as women look like the ugliest version of themselves. They wouldn’t know what a Bio woman looks like or dress like if it was shown to them. Those men look more like something you see at a circus.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a rilly rilly twanzphobic reply, go on, dares ya!

