What’s wrong with this picture?


It is another of those shonky ads that caught my eye on FaceButt, you know, those ads that promise miracles by buying two inexpensive products

(and later consumers find they cannot get these introductory prices again, or that the companies keep debiting funds from their cards despite being told not to). Anyway, that is beside the point. This particular ad clearly shows a pregnant woman, (not ‘fat’ woman) ffs. What’s more, the pregnant woman is exercising.

Clicking on the link will take you to a page that promises you can lose weight (or middle/belly fat) without diet or exercise. The site is also made up to look like a news report.

theconsumernewsreport.com/Diet/Headline/d/index.php?img5

So I clicked the X on the ad, and selected “misleading” as the reason to piss it off. My bit of Armchair Activism for the morning. 😛

6 thoughts on “What’s wrong with this picture?

  1. FAB Libber aka Dave the Squirrel

    Ah, I finally found where I think the photo came from (after searching stock photos), it is on a women’s site, article about yoga for pregnant women.

    allwomenstalk.com/yoga-for-pregnant-women-part-i/

    I suspected that these shonksters may have been too cheap to pay for a stock photo, and just nicked one off the internutz somewhere.

    Like

    Reply
  2. jilla

    I’ve never heard of that before, nicking a photo off the internutz somewhere!

    Seriously, those sites are the equivalent of eating at McDonald’s all your life. I really would buy one of those apps that sets my phaser to stun here, but then I wouldn’t get your Phenith Art.

    Because I’m on Google, I get loads of ads like that inbetween the comments and posts on some of our sites. Not figured out yet why some and not others.

    Like

    Reply
  3. FAB Libber aka Dave the Squirrel

    Well, I nick pictures off the internutz all the time. However, I am not doing shonky advertising. I also notice that on the FB ad, it has “cnn.com” (which was not a hyperlink if I recall correctly) but it is yet another bit of misleading info on this ad. FaceButt (and all similiar) should really have some basic screening in place for ads placed on their site. This one is so easy to see that it is a scam.

    Like

    Reply
  4. jilla

    Oh I agree about the pix. Just oining you. I imagine the woman involved is lovin’ working for nothing, likely without giving permission or rights.

    Like

    Reply
  5. FAB Libber aka Dave the Squirrel

    I left them a message on their blog to say the picture was used.
    Two bits of armchair activism for the day… I was on a roll 😛

    Like

    Reply
  6. ball buster

    I look at it this way – if motherhood were so deeply respected, then why are women expected to bounce right back into a pre-baby body months after giving birth? Why are women required to hide their stretch marks and pooch bellies? The physical markers of motherhood are looked at with disdain and disgust. Mothers themselves are viewed as less intelligent and less than honorable, because don’tcha know (to quote Kanye West “bitches be gettin’ pregnant on purpose!!11!!11!”. But aside from men accusing women of purposefully getting pregnant, women vilify other women for this as well.

    Procreation is only a means to an end to put women in their place in society, and opens us up a whole other world of abuse. And of course, women will never be good enough mothers. People will always find something wrong with mothers but give men father of the year awards just for showing up for the job.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a rilly rilly twanzphobic reply, go on, dares ya!

